grow up already


the major problem
August 28, 2007, 12:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

with not having anything to do (school, hobbies, etc.) is your brain is completely wasted on thoughts of yourself and your immediate world. I mean we all gotta think, unfortunately. That shit does not shut up ever. But if you’re not careful you’ll find that those endless thoughts are revolving around a singular subject- you. Me.

This is why hobbies are so fucking important. The last time I did something hobby-esque was start building a bike at the Bike Kitchen. It was great, it made Wednesday nights something legit instead that void in the middle of the week where nothing seems to exist except a meal and recorded episodes of Roseanne.

I remember this one evening I was working on the brake. For a full hour, the entire world consisted of nothing but trying to wedge a brake lever onto my drops. It was the best brake lever there. (Oh did I mention I’m building a Frankenbike consisting of nothing but whatever can be found in the Kitchen’s bins?) No other lever would substitute. We ran through every possible way to get that thing on there, up to and including using folded up pieces of paper to prop up the screw. After awhile it became clear that it would not work but now the task had taken on a life of it’s own. Fuck, I didn’t even want that lever anymore, but I did want it to fit more than anything.

You ever notice when that happens? You’ve been working on something and after awhile the intended result becomes way less important than just solving the problem. That’s probably how scientists will cure cancer, and they’ll be at the podium receiving their Nobel Prize and they’ll be like, “Oh yeah, cancer. I’ve just been trying to get the synthesized RNA D-1b to fuse with the D-2b for like, 12 goddamn years.”

A luxury is to be able to do something that engaging on a regular basis. Otherwise you’ll become one of those people who relates everything to themselves and takes everything personally and can’t be bothered to even talk about the world-at-large. I don’t blame them necessarily, and I know I get like that from time to time. It’s not our faults our brains don’t ever shut the fuck up, and without some serious outside stimulation they’ll naturally think about themselves.

Go do something! I heard it’s a nice day outside. Go do something where you get so tired all you can think about is your body, willing it not to give out. Go do something where your superior intellect must take a backseat and work to understand someone else’s far more superior intellect. Go do something that will give birth to something for you or someone else to enjoy. Have fun!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment